The Gift of the Timber Rattlesnake

In La Crosse, Wisconsin, if you drive up Bliss Road and past Grandad’s Bluff turning left on County FA you pass Hixon Forest Park. Past that, you’ll continue on the ridge to Rim of the City Road on your left. Take that past several large houses with expansive views of the river valley. You’ll reach a cul-de-sac and the there lies entrance to the Rim of the City park.

rim of the city

Some times I go up here at lunch to pick up trash. This is an easy access place that has great views. No biking is allowed, which is controversial. Ironically, the more exclusive a place (not allowing biking) allows more folks privacy to come and drink, graffiti and trash the place. Therefore, this makes for a good place to go and clean up.

It was a gorgeous day yesterday. It was beautiful to look out over the city and river valley.

I walked past a couple groups of kids lounging in hammocks. Enjoying their wide open summer days. Utere, non numera – Use the hours, don’t count them. They were living up to that.


Listening to some music, I was strolling back along the path about 200 meters from the house. In my periphery, my attention was draw to motion ahead.

I saw a snake and immediately could tell by the head shape this was not a rat snake.



This gorgeous timber rattler stopped when it saw me, and then, without rattling, slowly slid across the path and into the underbrush. It was so amazing. A gorgeous adult specimen.


I feel pretty luck to see this awesome snake.  (Here is the video) I posted some pictures on instagram and one commenter said they would have “sent him to meet his maker.” I tried to make a lighthearted response and then went on to say bites are really rare and if they see one, they should let it slide on by. They may have been exaggerating.  But I still find it sad. This was an awesome snake. If someone else had walked across it, it might have died. I’m thankful I got to see it and it went peacefully into the underbrush.

Author: D Nash

Family. Fly fishing. Music.

2 thoughts on “The Gift of the Timber Rattlesnake”

  1. Getting bit by a rattlesnake is no joke. There are tons of myths surrounding how you should treat them too. I recommend anyone who lives around these snakes to be informed so as to actually help in that situation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

