January 1. Winter trout season opener.

I lost a glove, broke a net, caught some great fish, and discovered why wing trout fishing in southeast Minnesota and the driftless area is amazing. 
New Year’s Eve was spent quietly with my wife, Ryan Secrest, and a fly tying vise. 
New Year’s Day began 16deg with a biting wind and a 2 mile hike through the snow. 
I’m thankful for the easement and property owners who have left this land undeveloped. 
The fish were generous and willing to take nymphs and streamers. 
Now, the big question is, when I got back to get my glove I lost somewhere by the stream, do I bring a rod?
Author: D Nash

Family. Fly fishing. Music.

4 thoughts on “January 1. Winter trout season opener.”

  1. the rod came along, but got much less use. I was up against a timeline while mommy and baby napped 🙂 Still, I had a few takes which was fun. As for Jenny McCarthy, no words…..

    Like

Leave a Reply

