Loon Outdoors. Go get some.



Loon Outdoors has revamped their site and they want you to know about it. I must say, it is very user friendly. I glanced through it and, in a matter of seconds, found at least five things I wanted (Deep Soft WeightReel LubeUV Fly Tying KitStrike Out, the Magnetic Net Release, and the Nip N’ Sip. Oh, wait, I guess that was six. Can you blame me? This stuff is pretty fancy, and I like fancy from time to time. I also like the “Buy Local” tab that lets you search for local dealers.  So go forth, and check it out. If you go to their facebook page you’ll probably find a button to click that will enter you in a drawing for the big April giveaway. Click it.

On another note, I finally got a chance to tackle the next trout in James Prosek’s Trout: An Illustrated History. The Sunapee Trout on page 18-19 is a fish that likely only exists today in a hybrid form in some Lakes in Maine. James shares a quote from John D. Quackenbos. “As the October pairing time approaches, the Sunapee fish becomes richly illuminated with the flushes of its maturing passion. The steel-green mantle of the back and shoulders now seems to dissolve into a veil of amethyst, through which the daffodil spots of mid-summer gleam out in points of flame, while below the lateral line, all is dazzling orange…” (The Geological Ancestors of the Brook Trout (1916)).  I’ve painted 6 so far. It is slow, but I’m going to make my way through this book. Only 62 more to go, I think? Page 20 showcases the Quebec Red Trout. I’m pretty excited for that one. We’ll see when I get the time. Maybe next Sunday night…


Author: D Nash

Family. Fly fishing. Music.

8 thoughts on “Loon Outdoors. Go get some.”

Leave a Reply

